Anti-Slavery Day Awards 2017 celebrate work done to tackle modern slavery

The winners of the Anti-Slavery Day Awards 2017 were announced in the State Rooms of Speaker's House on Wednesday 18th October. The annual ceremony pays tribute to the work of those in the media who have highlighted the nature and prevalence of modern slavery in the UK, as well as those who have made an outstanding contribution to the fight against modern slavery.

The Home Secretary, Rt Hon Amber Rudd MP, presented the awards to the winners of the media awards, Sarah Newton MP Under-Secretary of State for Crime, Safeguarding and Vulnerability, presented the outstanding contribution awards and the Victims’ Commissioner, Baroness Newlove, presented the award from the Human Trafficking Foundation Trustees to the mother of a British victim of trafficking and who has tirelessly campaigned to raise awareness and call for improved victim support. 

Media Awards

1. Best written opinion piece dealing with modern slavery or human trafficking

Dr Patrick Burland – Open Democracy ‘Smoke but no fire: how not to read UK government trafficking statistics

2. Best written news piece dealing with modern slavery or human trafficking

May Bulman- The Independent ‘Surge in child refugees trying to reach UK creates ‘terrifying new market’ for people traffickers'

3. Best investigative newspaper article dealing with modern slavery or human trafficking

Amelia Gentleman- The Guardian ‘Trafficked and enslaved: the teenagers tending UK cannabis farms

4. Best broadcast piece dealing with modern slavery or human trafficking

Fatima Manji- Channel 4 ‘Children trafficked to UK lost in system

5. Best example of reporting which respects and dignifies survivors of trafficking

Alex Tizon - The Atlantic ‘My family’s Slave

6. Best film dealing with modern slavery or human trafficking

Three Girls’ by Studio Lambert for the BBC.

Media Award Panel: Joanna Ewart-James (Freedom United); Vicky Brotherton (formerly Anti-Trafficking Monitoring Group); Melissa Blackburn (Unchosen); Chloe Setter (ECPAT UK); Linn Aakvik (FLEX); Diane Payne (The Salvation Army); and Megan Bethell (The Snowdrop Project)


Marsh Awards for Outstanding Contribution to the fight against modern slavery

Award to an individual from the voluntary or private sector

Karen Anstiss

Bakhita House, Safe House in London

Award to an individual from the public sector

Cristina Gavrilovic

Anti-Slavery Partnership Coordinator
Serious Crime Directorate, Kent and Essex Police

Award to an organisation

Hope For Justice

Anti-slavery organisation based in Manchester

Outstanding Contribution Award Panel: Victoria Marks (ATLEU); Luljeta Nuzi (Shpresa Programme); Rita Gava (Kalayaan); and Euan Fraser (Human Trafficking Foundation)


Human Trafficking Foundation Trustee Award

Jean Simester

Mother of a victim who has done much to raise awareness and support families of other victims